Pyrus communis



The so-called European pear or common pear (Pyrus communis) is a pear species that originates in central and eastern Europe and southwest Asia. The pear tree belongs to the family of Rosaceae and sub family of Pomoideae, together with the apple and quince. The genus Pyrus consists of around 22 species, which are grown in Asia, Europe and northern Africa.
The European or common pear is a perennial, deciduous tree and cultivated for its fruit. The tree grows small, white flowers (about 2.5 cm or 1 inch in diameter) and produces a pyriform, fleshy fruit. Pear trees can grow as tall as 9 metres and are able to produce fruit for around 20 years.